Developing my final illustration: style 1

Firstly, I looked at how I could use various design and medium aspects from my three chosen illustrators. I was inspired by Alison Hansen to include accessories, namely a hat and handbag in my illustration as they often featured in her artwork. I created a simple outline as the basis of this illustration.

IMG_1521.JPGHansen primarily uses pastel colours in her illustrations and applies it using water colour paint. I wanted to use pastel colours in my illustration as I like how the subtle colours in Hansen’s artwork still created an impactful image. I tried to use Lucia Curzi’s technique of building up various colours. This technique did not provide me with the same effect as I used similar pink and lilac tones. I feel that this technique would have worked better if I were using a range of stronger colours. In addition, I wanted to keep the tones and colours I used in the facial features subtle as this was an ongoing trend throughout my three illustrators. The depiction below represents how my illustration looked after using the various techniques.

img_1522

I added tonal effects to the skin of my figure like the illustrations of Floyd Grey. In addition, I continued to build up various colour tones on the dress and gilet of my illustration. Finally, I used a fine art pen to depict various aspects of my illustration such as facial features and shadows. The image below represents the final outcome.

img_1523I am disappointed with the end result, as I feel that I created a poor quality illustration. I feel that the colour tones I chose to use did not work will with Curzi’s technique. In addition, I feel that I should have made the head of my figure larger as it would have made it easier for me to add detail. I have always struggled with drawing eyes on fashion figures. Therefore, it would be advisable for me to use accessories like Hanson e.g. sunglasses. I believe that this would provide me with a better quality image.

 

